top of page

ROTC Students Participate in Change of Command Ceremony

Marine Corp JROTC held the Change of Command ceremony Jan 10th to pass on the Battalion Commander position from Alexa Stadler (‘20) to William Levy (‘20), and Sergeant Major position from Elias Irizarry (‘20) to Larissa King (‘20).

The Change of Command is a military ceremony where the Battalion Commander will relinquish command to the incoming CO. And the new cadet Sergeant Major takes over.

Stadler has been in JROTC for eight semesters, or four years. When she was a freshman, she wasn’t even sure if she wanted the responsibilities of having a leadership position. However, when junior year came, she began to strive towards becoming the Battalion Commander, which is the topmost leader position under Colonel and Sergeant Major, the Marine Instructors of the program.

“The interviewing process to obtain a leadership position in JROTC is really intimidating,” Stadler says. “You would think since I have been in JROTC for four years, I would have no trouble talking in front of Sergeant Major and Colonel. However, when you’re in a tiny room with the bulkhead [a dividing wall] closed off, and everyone’s interviewing times written down on the whiteboard, you start to get so nervous and your hands start sweating.”

The interviewing process is formal. Colonel and Sergeant Major always interview a selection of cadets to find the right person for each leadership position.

“You must wear your dress blues,” she says. “For female cadets, you must have your hair pulled back in a tight bun. They [Colonel and Sergeant Major] don’t make eye contact a lot while they interview you, and you’re left to wonder if you’re saying the wrong things. It’s really quiet because you’re the only one talking.”

Tatum Brewer (‘20) is the Commander of Troops and set to become the next executive officer.

“My job in the Change of Command ceremony is to command the two companies,” Brewer says. “It’s like an orchestra, and I’m the conductor.”

The executive officer is the second in command to the Battalion Commander and takes on any tasks that the CO delegates.

“Next semester, I want to push everyone to get their slides done for staff meetings on time as we have a problem with that,” she explains. “I want cadets to take responsibility because if I have to be second in command, I want to make sure that everyone is doing what they are supposed to.”

Levy was promoted to Battalion Commander during the Change of Command Ceremony. He explains that decided to go out for the position after a retired Sergeant Major told him he was a great leader.

“We started talking and he said that I was a good leader and had a good head on my shoulders and that I could go far with my leadership skills,” he says. “Later he gave me a sergeant major challenge coin. This is when I started wanting to do more and become a better leader.”

Levy says he is excited to work with Tatum Brewer and Larissa King. He hopes that he can do a good job like Stadler. He is eager to learn more and get to know his new position.

“As I become the next CO, I hope that our program continues to prosper in everything we do,” Levy said. “I also hope to work with Tatum Brewer and Larissa King effectively to do everything we can to lead the program. I want to improve the responsibility of the junior cadets and give them more chances to lead.”

bottom of page